Academic Program

Undergraduate Program: Currently mathematics department is not offering Undergraduate Program like B.Sc. in Mathematics but the mathematics department serves as an allied department to all the undergraduate departments for conducting necessary courses.

Postgraduate Program: The postgraduate program is a vigorous, rapidly expanding program of advanced study and research in the areas of both pure and applied mathematics. Since 2000 the mathematics department has been offering postgraduate program namely M.Phil. (Masters of Philosophy) and Ph.D. (Doctor of Philosophy). From July 2014, the department is also offering M.Sc. degree. To earn an M.Sc. degree, a student should have to complete a minimum of 36 credit hours of which 18 credit hours of course work and 18 credit hours of thesis work.

To get M.Phil. degree a student has to complete a minimum of 48 credit hours of which 24 credit hours is assigned to a thesis. The degree requirements of Ph.D. are 60 credit hours of which a maximum of 45 credit hours of thesis works. The areas of specialization in the postgraduate program are : Lattice Theory, Fuzzy Mathematics, Fluid Dynamics, Magnetohydrodynamics, Meteorology, Optimization, Experimental Design, Evolutionary Algorithm, Nonlinear Differential Equation, Numerical Analysis and Operations Research.